There are no active performances for this event!

Event details

DRACULA – The Music and Film

Original Music by Philip Glass

Performed by Philip Glass and Kronos Quartet

Conducted by Michael Riesman

 To Universal Pictures’ 1931 film classic DRACULA Starring Bela Lugosi




Romania is the scene of an extraordinary and unique premiere this summer:  the representation of the show DRACULA – THE MUSIC AND FILM by legendary Oscar Nominated composer Philip Glass and Grammy Award Winner Kronos Quartet.



July 2, 2016, Bran Castle, Royal Park, Bran |Exclusive Preview

July 4, 2016, Summer Theatre, Herastrau Park, Bucharest | Premiere

Dracula hears Philip Glass and gets thirsty’ (New York Times)

DRACULA -THE MUSIC AND FILM is a unique screening of the remastered American cinematic classic Dracula (1931) accompanied by its first original score, composed by Philip Glass in 1998 and performed LIVE by Philip Glass himself and the Kronos Quartet.

A story about passion that appeals to our darkest human side, the show breaks conventions and delivers an exceptional cultural experience.

The Show thrilled audiences worldwide up to this day with sold out premieres in Los Angeles, New York, London and BerlinDRACULA -THE MUSIC AND FILM was part of the festivities occasioned by Universal Pictures’ anniversary of 100 years.


Philip Glass is one of the most influential contemporary composers. Among his most prestigious works are Einstein on the Beach and The Voyage. In 1997, the score composed by Philip Glass for Martin Scorsese’s movie Kundun got nominated for the Academy Awards. Two other Academy Award nominations followed, for the score of The Hours (2002), starring Nicole Kidman and Notes on a Scandal (2006), directed by Richard Eyre, with Kate Blanchett and Judi Dench. Through time, Philip Glass has collaborated with some of the most prestigious artists of the moment, including the Literature Nobel Prize Winner Doris Lessing, theatre director and visual artist Robel Wilson and Woody Allen. His scores have received a Golden Globe (The Truman Show) and a BAFTA Award (The Hours).



For more than 40 years, San Francisco’s Kronos Quartet—David Harrington (violin), John Sherba (violin), Hank Dutt (viola), and Sunny Yang (cello)—has  combined a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to continually re-imagining the string quartet experience. As one of the world’s most celebrated and influential ensembles, Kronos has performing thousands of concerts, releasing more than 50 recordings, collaborating with many of the world’s most intriguing and accomplished composers and performers, and commissioning more than 850 works and arrangements for string quartet. A Grammy winner, Kronos is also the only recipient of both the Polar Music Prize and the Avery Fisher Prize.